Miami Open 2020 – Presented by Itaú

10 February 2020

Last updated: 23 March 2020 at 2:47 am

Miami Gardens Arch

The Miami Open Presented by Itaú, which is the main sponsor for this event, also commonly referred to as the Miami Masters. This is the second ATP Tour 1000 events of the year and starts directly after the Indian Wells ATP 1000 event. This event changed venue in 2019 to Miami Gardens and was formerly played in Key Biscayne (1987-2018).

The new arena is the Hard Rock Stadium which is home to the Miami Dolphins. The arena structure for 2019 was not fantastic and we hope for a better solution for Miami Open 2020.

Ere the introduction of ATP 1000 Master tournaments, Key Biscayne was by many considered as the fifth most prestigious tennis event after the Grand Slams. Before Key Biscayne, the Miami Open was hosted in Delray Beach in 1985 and Boca West in 1985.

This event has undergone a lot of name changes of its +35 year history. We prefer the name structure since 2015, adding the main sponsor name to the Miami Open (which is what most tennis fans consider to be the real name for this even).

1985-1992: Lipton International Players Championship
1993-1999: Lipton Championship
2000-2001: Ericsson Open
2002-2006: NASDAQ-100 Open
2007-2012: Sony Ericsson Open
2013-2014: Sony Open Tennis
2015-Today: Miami Open presented by Itaú

Some of the most notable winners of the Miami Open are Andre Agassi and Novak Djokovic with 6 Miami Master titles each, Roger Federer 4 titles and Pete Sampras 3 titles.

John Isner won his first and so far only, most likely his Miami Open title will be his only ATP 1000 Master title, in 2018. He sensationally followed his victory in 2018 with reaching the final again in 2019. This time he fell short to Roger Federer. An injury was troubling Isner in the final and he was unable to defend his 2018 title.

Miami Open Champions 1985 to 2019

Year Champion Year Champion Year Champion
1985  Tim Mayotte 1997  Thomas Muster 2009  Andy Murray
1986  Ivan Lendl 1998  Marcelo Ríos 2010  Andy Roddick
1987  Ivan Lendl 1999  Richard Krajicek 2011  Novak Djokovic
1988  Mats Wilander 2000  Pete Sampras  2012  Andy Murray
1989  Ivan Lendl  2001  Andre Agassi  2013  Andy Murray
1990  Andre Agassi 2002  Andre Agassi  2014  Novak Djokovic
1991  Jim Courier 2003  Andre Agassi  2015  Novak Djokovic
1992  Michael Chang 2004  Andy Roddick 2016  Novak Djokovic
1993  Pete Sampras 2005  Roger Federer 2017  Roger Federer
1994  Pete Sampras  2006  Roger Federer  2018  John Isner
1995  Andre Agassi  2007  Novak Djokovic 2019  Roger Federer
1996  Andre Agassi  2008  Nikolay Davydenko

Gus AndersonGus Andersson – Tennis Expert

Gus Anderson is a gambling wizard. As a kid he dreamt about becoming a Tennis, Hockey and Golf professional but ended up as a gambling professional focusing on Tennis and Hockey.

Tennis Picks at

Best Sportsbooks for Tennis Betting

Want to get the latest news and exclusive offers?

Sign up for our newsletter now!